Posted by: Hungry Korean | November 14, 2008

Rainy night = comfort food and tv

Lil Frankie’s

Yesterday in NYC it rained all day long and the rain only got heavier as the night deepened.  I hate the rain: the combination of being wet, carrying wet umbrellas, trying to hail a cab in the rain…the whole thing annoys me so I simply avoid all that and stay in.  As I’ve mentioned I love pizza so I decided to have a date with my television and order some excellent pizza from Lil Frankie’s.

Lil Frankie’s is the brother restaurant to Frank’s, a popular Italian restaurant in the East Village.  This offshoot serves up Italian food as well but their pizzas are particularly noteworthy as they are infused with smoky deliciousness since they are cooked in a handcrafted brick oven with lava from Vesuvio.

image taken from roboppy on flickr

image taken from roboppy on flickr

I got the polpettine pizza: baby meatballs, fresh mozzarella, tomatoes and fresh sage.  The crust is very thin, but dense in taste, the tomatoes add the right amount of tart to the mild melted mozzarella and the meatballs are tender and delicious.  Meatballs are the highlight; tiny mounds of salty meaty goodness speckle the pie.

Lil Frankie’s is quite popular and only take reservations for parties of 4 and up.  Come early on the weekends for dinner to avoid a wait or come for brunch which is less crowded and just as delicious.  I’m so happy they deliver to my apartment 🙂

Lil Frankie’s, 19 First Avenue, New York, NY

Responses

  1. Yummm that looks so good! I haven’t eaten pizza ever since Brian came into my life because he never did… But this past weekend, we went to whole foods and got a pizza with pizza sauce, mushrooms, bell peppers and garlic (no cheese). They put whole cloves of garlic and usually I don’t eat garlic but since we were staying in, I thought, why not just go for it? I do love garlic but try not to eat it because of the smell.. well, the next day we were both sooooo… gassy!! I think we were gassy until about 9pm. We kept asking each other, “Are you still gassy?” “Yeah… Are you?” “OMG yeah…” It was a rough day.

  2. I love both of the Frank restaurants. Sunday night is the best night to go to Frank’s – little wait and you can hear yourself talk. The mussels are to DIE for.


Leave a Reply

Categories

