Posted by: Hungry Korean | March 1, 2009

A change of pace

Nyonya

Went Malayasian for lunch on Sunday.

Bourdain once said “I’m a total egg slut.” (He has such a way with words — gotta love him) I’m an egg slut and an oyster slut so the first thing my eyes wandered to was the oyster omelet. I knew I had to have it.

oyster-omelet

It was so delicious. The omelet was filled with juicy oysters and chives.  The omelet was very well seasoned. I supposed I expected the eggs alone to be somewhat typically “eggy” and maybe even bland but was surprised how tasty the actual eggs were. The dish comes with a sauce which I expected to be spicy but was actually sweet.

For main I opted for the Singapore fried noodles with shrimp and Chinese sausage. Not recommended. I found a total of two shrimp and the Chinese sausage was almost nonexistent. The dish was mediocre at best and nothing extraordinary.

My friend had the garlic chicken.

garlic-chicken

It’s deep fried chicken in a garlic brown sauce. The chicken’s skin is very crispy with an essence of garlic while the meat itself is moist. I could drink the garlic sauce, it’s that tasty.

I am still thinking about that omelet!!!

Nyonya, 145 Grand Street, New York, NY

Leave a Reply

Categories

