Posted by: Hungry Korean | March 30, 2009

L’Artusi

I previously raved about Dell’Anima and how amazing the pastas were. The same owners of Dell’Anima opened a larger sister restaurant, L’Artusi, and I was determined to try it since my experience at Dell’Anima was so amazing. Wednesday I went there for dinner with my friend “Sister From Another Mother” (SFAM).

The restaurant itself is visually appealing and spans two floors. The main floor is more bustling as the bar is located there while upstairs is more intimate. We were seated upstairs.

To start, I opted to have the scallop crudo (crudo means raw) drizzled in sea salt, lemon and olive oil.

scallop-crudo

A very simple preparation and the scallops were unbelievably sweet. I am truly a believer that if you have simple, delicious and fresh ingredients, a dish can be phenomenal without a whole lot of bells and whistles. That was the case right here.

SFAM ordered the octopus with chorizo and potatoes. It was a good dish but nothing I have not tried before. I did not take pictures but the octopus was well cooked and the chorizo definitely added a kick to the dish. SFAM deemed it a bit too spicy for her so I obliged by cleaning the plate for her :).

For main, I had the spaghetti and meatballs as I had read in a review that L’Artusi’s version was quite good.

spaghetti-with-meatballs

The meatballs were firm and flavorful and the pasta was cooked al dente but although the red sauce was tasty, the sauce was really oily. After you got through the pasta there were literally pools of oil scattered throughout the bottom of the bowl.  However it was the better of the two pasta dishes we ordered.

SFAM got the bucatini with clams. Bucatini is like spaghetti only it’s hollow. The use of this pasta made it a little difficult to eat as the dish is oil based.

bucatini-with-clams

The dish was lacking in a way. We couldn’t put our finger on what it was but all I can say is that I’ve definitely had better pasta with clams elsewhere. It was a fair rendition, nothing out of the ordinary however.

I liked our meal but it was nothing compared to it’s older sister Dell’Anima. I still crave the pasta bolognese from Dell’Anima and I can’t say I feel the same urgency to return to L’Artusi…..ok maybe for the scallop crudo?

L’Artusi, 228 W. 10th Street, New York, NY

Leave a Reply

Categories

