Posted by: Hungry Korean | April 5, 2010

S is for Spring and Seafood

On a beautiful spring Thursday I met Irish Lassie for happy hour at AquaGrill in Soho. AquaGrill is a seafood restaurant that has been around as long as I can remember. I’ve been in NY for about 13+ years now and it was there when I first came to this city. Not quite sure when it opened.  I am happy to announce that the food has stayed just as good and the seafood just as fresh. This place is known for their wide variety of oysters.

So with a glass of Pino in hand we shared a dozen oysters. With our appetites whetted, I decided to have a little something more. The tuna tartare. (a lady at the bar was having it and I immediately was struck with a hankering for it)

VERY fresh tuna dressed lightly in what tastes like a combo of sesame oil, soy sauce and a kick of heat sit on thinly sliced cucumbers and are topped with ginger and scallions which add freshness to the dish. This is probably one of the better tuna tartares I have had in the city — there was not a hint of fishiness. It was really delicious and totally sated my appetite.

Aquagrill, 210 Spring Street, New York, NY

Leave a Reply

Categories

