Posted by: Hungry Korean | April 7, 2011

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria

I used to come to Mario Batali’s Otto alot for their very reasonable prices, wide selection of vino and their excellent proscuitto. Hadn’t been back in awhile mainly because it’s perpetually crowded with tourists and locals and snagging a table can take awhile. Last night I just craved some thin brick oven pizza and suggested dinner there with Kale.

As usual – hectic and crazy inside, even on a rainy Wednesday night.

Once seated, I started with their proscuitto.

As good as I remember it: sliced paper thin, buttery and salty at the same time. I really think Otto serves the best proscuitto in the city. (aside from Batali’s other joint, Eataly)

Then I had my “go to” – the margherita pizza.  But I add garlic and chiles to it.

The cheese is scarce but creamy and delicious. The slices are very thin with a chewy yet crispy crust.  Fresh basil scatter the pie.  What makes this pizza so great? To me it’s the sauce. It’s great pizza sauce and you better love sauce because, as you can see, it dominates this pie.  I love adding garlic and chiles to it because it not only adds heat but depth with the garlic notes. I eat the entire pie when I order this and leave satisfied.

Otto serves a variety of smaller bites like octopus and eggplant caponata and also pasta but I really think the pizza and proscuitto is the reason to come here.

Otto Enoteca Pizzeria, 1 5th Avenue, new York, NY

Responses

  1. I don’t even understand how I finished up right here, however I assumed this publish used to be good. I don’t recognise who you are however definitely you are going to a famous blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

