Posted by: Hungry Korean | July 19, 2012

Empanada Mama

It’s time for me to announce my latest love affair.  I have been eating these delicious things for awhile now (and in large quantities) ever since I discovered them at a street fair earlier this summer and have not been sharing with my readers.  Today I open the gates and announce to everyone that the best empanadas in this hungry girl’s opinion is at Empanada Mama!  They serve up other Latin food (like arepas, arroz con pollo, etc) and a HUGE variety of empanadas, baked or fried.  You really need to visit the website to get an idea of the variety served.  Courtesy link here.

Cookie Monster loves himself the Cuban which is slow roasted pork, ham, mozzarella cheese and a touch of sofrito sauce.  That is delicious but my hands down favorite is the Brasil. All the food comes with two types of dipping sauces – a creamier spicy green sauce and a bit more acidic spicy red one very similar to tobasco sauce.

I’ve tried a bunch of different types of empanadas and I always go back to Brasil. Always. Today I picked up two of the Brasil for lunch.  The Brasil is traditional style Brazilian empanada with ground beef, olives, sautéed onions and potatoes.  There has got to be a ton of seasoning too because this is FULL FLAVORED, burst in your mouth delicious. I am so addicted to them.

Shot of innards:

I love when I get a large chunk of an olive bite or tender potato. And when I’m on my last bites, I get a lil sad.

Anyways, there you have it. My guilty addiction and craving.

Empanada Mama, 763 Ninth Avenue, New York, NY


Leave a comment

Categories